top of page

Rasheeeeeeeeeed Wallace: 'CTC' for the Birthday

"As long as somebody 'CTC,' at the end of the day I'm with them. For all you that don't know what CTC means, that's 'Cut the Check.' I just go out there and play. Again, somebody just CTC." -Rasheed Wallace

images-3.jpg
images.jpg

images-4.jpg

I know I'm supposed to adore the stand-up, anti-controversial athlete that beckons pure adoration, but that's not what I'm about at all. In fact, I'm the exact opposite. Every single time I hear Russell Wilson use the same generic sports jargon when responding to questions all I can reasonably do is cringe. It's a heinous and underrated quality that fans across this country can't seem to get enough of. I give you the birthday bad boy, Mr. Rasheed Wallace. One way to sum up how Sheed probably feels about generic PC comments that consume today's sports scene can be found on a t-shirt he wore with the Trail Blazers that read, "F*CK WHAT YA HEARD." And as DMX, who most likely would be great friends with Wallace, would say, "it's all about what you hearin'."

image.jpeg

Rasheed is the prime example of a man who did what he wanted, no matter what sort of backlash loomed on the other side. Despite his 'Imma do me' attitude, Sheed remains a fan favorite. He's Rasheed Wallace and never changed that truth at all. When he should've subtly slid into a veteran bench role with the Celtics in 2010 he decided to act and play like he was a Washington Bullet in '95. The statistics prove this, that season with the C's he led the NBA in technical fouls with 18...Oh, vintage Sheed. That's just who he is. Although this may define his image for the casual fan, one thing that can't be overstated is the high caliber of teammate he was. From his days with UNC and beyond, he was consumed with being a watchdog for the players who battled on the court by his side. That never changed and never will, regardless of the role he holds, whether it's on a bench, in a front office or on his couch at home flicking through channels on his TV.

imgres.jpg

Rasheed Wallace made me love the game of basketball. He put his heart into it and consumed himself with what he witnessed on the court. To me, he's a true genius and a gift to the game. Although he wasn't the MJ or Kobe type of workout fanatic during his career, he made masterful turnaround jumpers, preposterous passes in the paint and staunch defensive stands against some of the best big men of his era. And he made this video, which made Christmas season even better than I originally fathomed:

Yes, Rasheed Wallace deserves to be celebrated today. And that's why I love sports today.

imgres-1.jpg
images-2.jpg

-ATF


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
bottom of page