top of page

A Tribute to the Number Two

Yes, our society may love the number 1, but I'm here to celebrate the number 2 today, and point out all the many times this numeral has popped up in the past couple of days. Not to mention, it's actually the 22nd day of September... I know, how clever is this ... But keeping it real, basically, I'm creating a way to honor the man who helped make a Lil Wayne featured hook of 2006 become one of the best Carolina basketball phrases of the Roy Williams era. Of course, I'm mentioning the man who donned "22" ("2" during his freshman season in Chapel Hill), and obviously one player who maximized the number, Mr. Wayne "Make It Wayne" Ellington. Why do this tribute today? Well it's simple really, Mr. Ellington signed with the LA Lakers this morning, adding another Tar Heel to left coast of Laker land. (My respects to Ed Davis, even if he left on a not-so-good note with fans after the never-to-be-mentioned 2010 UNC season) Fanatic rambling aside, congrats to Wayne!

ByK9nxHCEAIGzg4.jpg

How do you want #22 to be remembered when you leave UNC?

"I would think probably as one of the best shooters ever to play at Carolina, and someone who hopefully won a national championship."

Well, Wayne did both of those, so I'd say he's a success. Also, the man had a knack for continuing the Clemson curse on the court in Chapel Hill, courtesty of Carolina basketball throughout history.

Here's Wayne proving his point about being a shooter, so yeah, he had that handled:

And here's the Clemson overtime thriller that showed Ty Lawson's innate ability to kick the ball out at the right moment and Wayne's effortless catch-and-release that is as silky as...well... some very silky shit. I lack an abundance of silky similes, sorry.

Ellington Explained by the Numbers:

Career Stats: 115 games played, 46.3 FG%, 80.9 FT%, 14.7 points, 4.1 rebounds, 39.7 3P%, 13.5 career win shares

Awards: 2008-09 NCAA tournament Most Outstanding Player

Accomplishments: Three year starter, 2009 National Champion

He's a man of his word, and that's why #2(2) was worthy of being the nation's number 1 in 2009 and beyond. Here's to hoping he sticks in LA and starts a solid second life in the league after bouncing around from team to team as a young journeyman.

images-2.jpg
images-3.jpg

Lance Stephenson, Rap God & Charlotte Ambassador:

Well, I couldn't just leave with one mention of the number 2, especially when a whole post is centered on that premise. For that reason alone, I give you Lance Stephenson proving why his move to Charlotte marks much more than just hauling in a new look for the Hornets. It's a new era under Jordan, who seems interested and invested in the plight of his franchise up to this point during his reign on top. The free agent signing push by the franchise showed Jordan desired real change moving forward. The man he signed, Stephenson, looks solid rocking the #2 throwback rendition of the jersey in his rap debut below. I can't lie, I love it. I know, "I'm still a sucker for cornrows, I'll never change that", never fit quite like it does with this moment. I mean, what an amazing Allen Iverson reference by Stephenson. Also, special thanks to Nelly, Diddy, Murphy Lee and the great blockbuster of the 2003 summer, Bad Boys 2. (See, the '2' just keeps making appearances)

Show Sidebar: "Touch darkness and darkness touches you back"

Sports are essential to my life, but TV shows (movies, too) that capture full fulfilment can't be far from matching that same sense of pure adulation. For this reason alone, I must mention 'True Detective: Season 2', and the fact that Colin Farrell is officially the frontman for the HBO hit show. Yes, this is news absolutely worthy of celebrating the number 2. Nothing makes me happier than knowing I'm going to witness the work of pure cinematic mastery on display,once again, for my locked, longing eyes as they sway between wonderment, enjoyment and pure passion for what I'm about to witness next. This is setting up to be the twenty-something version of the 'Hardy Boys' for me. For that, I thank Nick Pizzolatto, who coincidentally taught at UNC for a stint before leaving academia in 2010. I'd say that was a solid swap, Nick.

images-4.jpg

Final Thought de Tate:

“I want to keep my dreams, even bad ones, because without them, I might have nothing all night long." -Joseph Heller (Catch-22)

images-5.jpg

Most of all, the 2 or 22 mainly is meant to stand for 2(to)day. Enjoy it, don't let the moments pass by idly and leave a legacy of a lifetime. That's why Wayne Ellington earned this echoing ensemble of acknoledgment from me. Also, that's why I love sports today.

-ATF


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
bottom of page